OUR HISTORY
Picture 2_edited.jpg
The Batemans Bay Heritage Museum is run by volunteers as well as one part time staff member, all of whom look forward to meeting you!
The Museum began as a group of local residents who came together to preserve the history of the region. On July 25, 1977 they formed The Clyde River and Batemans Bay Historical Society.
The Historical Society rented space in a series of locations around Batemans Bay, including in the former Perry's Sawmill on Beach Road.
In 1985 a permanent home was found, when the Society was given the former Batemans Bay Court House and Police Station, built in 1905 and heritage listed. Shortly thereafter the Society received a second donation in the form of the one-room school house from Nelligen. The two buildings were moved to the Museum's current location, and roofed as one.
Over the past four decades, the Museum has grown into a local cultural institution with a shop for pre-loved books, regular events, workshops and talks and new exhibitions every few months.